Troubleshooting the DLO Administration Console

If you have questions about the DLO Administration Console, review the following information to find answers.

Table: DLO Administration Console questions and answers



I modified an Automated User Assignment, but the change isn't reflected for existing Desktop Agent users.

Automated User Assignments are only used once to assign a profile and Storage Location to a new Desktop Agent user. An Automated User Assignment can be modified to change the profile and Storage Location settings, but these changes apply only to new users. Users that have already been configured are not affected by subsequent changes in the Automated User Assignment.

This also applies to existing users who install the Desktop Agent on another desktop. The new installation uses the existing user settings and stores data in the user's existing user data folder. Automated User Assignment changes do not affect an existing user, even if the Desktop Agent installation is on a new computer.

Settings for an existing desktop user can be changed by modifying the profile to which the user is assigned, or by reassigning that user to a new profile or Storage Location.

See Modifying Desktop Agent user properties.

See About managing Desktop Agent users.

See About Automated User Assignments.

See About DLO profiles.

See Moving Desktop Agent users to a new network user data folder.

A desktop user ran the Desktop Agent and received an error indicating "Unable to configure the Desktop Agent. No settings found for the current user and no automatic user assignments match." What does this mean?

This message means that DLO could not find the user or an Automated User Assignment that matched the user's domain and group.

Users are added to DLO in the following ways:

  • An Automated User Assignment that matches the user's domain and group assigns a profile and Storage Location to the Desktop Agent and adds the user to DLO. Check that you have created Automated User Assignments that match the Domain and Group to which the user running the Desktop Agent belongs.

    You can also create an Automated User Assignment that covers all domains and all groups to catch any users who might not match a more specific Automated User Assignment. Such a "catchall" Automated User Assignment would typically be set to the lowest priority.

  • Users are manually added to DLO. This process requires that you assign a profile and either a Storage Location or user data folder to the new user.

Be sure that the user has a matching Automated User Assignment, or is added manually before the user runs the Desktop Agent.

See About Automated User Assignments.

When do I need a network user data folder, and when do I need a Storage Location?

Every Desktop Agent user must have a network user data folder, which is used to store backup data. Storage Locations are locations on the network where network user data folders are automatically created and maintained. They are not required if existing network shares are used to store user data.

If you want DLO to automatically create network user data folders, use a Storage Location. When new users are added to a Storage Location, network user data folders are automatically created for them within the Storage Location.

Alternately, if you would like to use existing network shares as network user data folders, or if you want to create network user data folders manually, then do not use Storage Locations.

See Configuring DLO.

I'm trying to create a Storage Location on a remote file server, and I am receiving an error indicating the MSDE Database Instance for the Desktop and Laptop Option needs to have access to the remote file server. What do I need to do?

To create Storage Locations on a remote file server, you must use an account that has administrative rights on the remote file server.

You can change the account credentials that were used to create the Storage Location.

See Changing DLO service credentials.

I manually added a new user and assigned the user to an existing Storage Location. I don't see a new user data folder for the new user in this Storage Location. Isn't it supposed to create one?

User data folders are created only after the Desktop Agent is both installed on the desktop and run by the new user.

How do I prevent a user from backing up data?

You can disable the user.

See Enabling or disabling DLO access for a desktop user.

In a backup selection, I selected to encrypt or compress my user's data. However, data that has already been backed up is not encrypted or compressed. Why is this?

DLO does not retroactively apply changes to encryption and compression settings to user data that is already backed up. Any data that is backed up after these settings have changed will use the new settings.

I would like to prevent files of specific types from being backed up. How can I set up DLO to always exclude files like *.mp3 or *.gho?

On the Tools menu, select Global Excludes. In this dialog box, you can add specific file types that will be excluded in all backup selections for all profiles.

Backups do not seem to be running for all users, or specific files are not being backed up.

If backup jobs are not running for a group of users, check the profile for these users to verify that backups are scheduled.

If specific files are not being backed up, review the backup selections in the profile to verify that the files are selected for backup.

I just tried to restore a file, but it doesn't appear to have been restored.

When restoring existing files to their original location, verify that you have selected Prompt or Overwrite in the Restore dialog box to replace the file. If you select Do not overwrite, the file is not restored.

In a profile, I configured backup selections to encrypt files. Now I need to recover files for a user. Do I need an encryption key to restore this data?

As an Administrator running the DLO Administration Console, you can redirect a restore of encrypted user data to an alternate computer or location, and it will be decrypted during the restore.

I would like to restore data to a user's computer, but that user is out of the office. Do I have to wait until that user returns to the office before I can start the restore?

DLO can queue restore jobs to desktops. If the user is offline now, you can queue a restore job through the Restore view in the DLO Administration console.

Another option is to restore the data to an alternate location, such as the administration computer or a network drive.

How can I protect open files?

DLO does not protect open files. It tries to back up files when they are closed or saved. If a file cannot be backed up because it is open (for example, a Word document you are editing) it remains in the Desktop Agent's pending list. The Desktop Agent tries to back up the file at the next backup time. This also means that certain files that are opened by the operating system are not backed up. They never close when the operating system is running.

The exception to this is protection of open PST files. The Desktop Agent is designed to protect open PST files if they are part of the profile or user's backup selections.

Incremental backups must be enabled for open file backups of PST files.

See About excluding files that are always open.

The History view in the DLO Administration Console doesn't show the most recent backup for all users.

The DLO Administration Console is automatically updated when a job runs, but not more than once per hour.