Creating a user-directed backup using the NonTarget method

If you are unfamiliar with how NetWare entities appear in the NetBackup for NetWare NonTarget Browser, refer to How NetWare entities appear in the NonTarget browser before creating a user-directed backup.

To create a user-directed backup using the NonTarget method

  • From the NetBackup master server's administration console, create a new policy, following the steps described in the NetBackup Administrator's Guide, Volume I. Use the following settings:

On the Attributes tab, for Policy type, select NetWare.

On the Clients tab, enter the name of the NetWare server for the Client name, and then select Novell as the Hardware, and NetWare as the Operating System.

On the Schedules tab, click New, and then for Type of backup select User Backup.

Note: The Selections tab is not used for user-directed backups.
  • On the NetBackup for NetWare NonTarget Browser's Actions menu, click Backup Files and Folders.
  • Mark a file to be backed up.

a.Double-click the SMDR on the left pane. The tree will expand to display the contents of the SMDR.

b.Double-click the TSA. The tree will expand to display the contents of the TSA.

c.Double-click the file server.

d.Enter the User Name and Password, and then click OK.

The user must have supervisor or administrator equivalency. The user name must contain the full context, for example, .ADMIN.RSVL.

e.If you want to back up an entire volume, click the selection circle next to the volume.

f.If you want to back up directories or files, expand the volume, and then click the selection circle next to each directory or file you want to include in the backup.

  • On the Backup Marked Files dialog, review your selections in the Name list.
  • If you want to be able to search for a keyword or phrase when restoring items, type a keyword or phrase.
  • Click Start Backup.
  • When prompted, click Yes if you want to view the progress of the backup; otherwise, click No.
  • If you selected to view the status, click Close after the job completes.

The View Status dialog allows you to view the progress report of a NetBackup operation. For more information about the View Status dialog, see Viewing job status.

Note: The NetBackup operation may take a few minutes to complete. You can close the Backup, Archive, and Restore interface after starting a backup operation. NetBackup will continue the backup operation in the background.

More Information