The recovery host
transfers the virtual machine files to the VMware destination that
is specified in other fields on this dialog. The default for the
recovery host is the original VMware backup host that backed up the
Consider the following when selecting a recovery
To use the original VMware backup host for the
recovery, verify that the backup host still exists. The original
backup host may have been removed or reconfigured after the backup
The current processing load on the host that you
want to use may be a factor. The recovery host undergoes
significant I/O activity when it restores a virtual machine.
The network connection between the recovery host
and the destination datastore may limit the type and speed of data
transmission. For example, to use the SAN transfer type, the
recovery host must have access to the appropriate luns in the
Specifies the vCenter
server for the restored virtual machine. To use the original
vCenter Server (the default), verify that the original vCenter
server still exists.
To use an older
VirtualCenter Server, make sure that it is compatible with the
virtual machine you want to restore. Note that a vmx-07 virtual
machine can only be restored to a vSphere 4.0 server.
To restore directly to an
ESX server, select None. None is available only if NetBackup credentials
have been configured for at least one ESX server.
See Adding NetBackup
credentials for VMware.
Specifies the ESX server
for the restored virtual machine. To use the original ESX server
(the default), verify that the original ESX server still
Click the Search option to browse for an ESX server.
ESX server dialog box (restore to alternate location).
Shows the VMware
datacenter containing the selected ESX server.
This option applies only
when you restore through a vCenter server. This option is disabled
when you restore directly to an ESX server.
By default, this field
shows the folder that contained the virtual machine when the
virtual machine was backed up. If you select a different ESX server
to which to restore the virtual machine, this field changes to
None. You must then click Browse to
select a folder within the datacenter for the restored virtual
Folder dialog box (restore to alternate location).
Specifies the VMware
display name for the restored virtual machine. The default is the
display name that the virtual machine had when it was backed
The display name must be
unique for the vCenter Server where the virtual machine is
virtual machine with this display name already exists at this
location (or at the original location), you are prompted to click
Overwrite the existing virtual
machine. You cannot restore the virtual machine if the
result will be two virtual machines with the same display name on
the same vCenter server.
Use this option to have
the restored virtual machine assigned to a resource pool. Resource
pools manage the host's CPU and memory.
Specifies the VMware
configuration datastore where the virtual machine configuration
files are stored.
datastore (sometimes called the VMX directory) contains the
configuration files that describe the virtual machine, such as .vmx
files. Active snapshots of vmdk files are also stored on the
Determines how the data
is sent from the VMware recovery host to the VMware datastore. The
appropriate type depends on the type of connection between the
NetBackup recovery host and the VMware datastore.
More information is
available about these options.
See Recovery Options dialog box.
Overwrite the existing
Select this option to
overwrite an existing virtual machine (at the restore destination
or the original location) that has the same display name or UUID of
the virtual machine to be restored.
If a virtual machine with
the same display name or UUID exists at the destination vCenter,
that virtual machine must be deleted before the restore begins.