What are 'SystemViews' (tm)
Hyena's SystemViews is an innovative feature that allows for fast and easy recalling of previous views of the right list window. This feature will be especially important to those users who need a method of easily going back to a previous display or that have a large number of objects (for example, domain user accounts) that take an extremely long time to retrieve and are needed for administration throughout the day. These views can now be retained and restored with the click of the mouse or through a keyboard shortcut.
The 'SystemViews'(tm) Toolbar
At the top of Hyena's right window is the new 'SystemViews' toolbar.
The 'left arrow' button is used to recall the previous view in the list of available views, while the 'right arrow' button is used to recall the next view in the list of available views. The 'save view' button (the third button on the SystemViews toolbar) is used to control whether Hyena will save the current view. When clicked in the 'down' position, Hyena will save the current view before the view is being replaced by another view. When clicked in the 'up' position, Hyena will not save the current view information. Hyena will, however, always save any changes to restored views.
The dropdown combo box can be used to select a previously saved view. Keyboard shortcuts are also available to navigate through views: Use Control-Left Arrow for restoring the previous view, and Control-Right Arrow to show the next view.
Tips and Usage Information
Use Tools->Settings->GUI to configure SystemViews options, such as the maximum number of views available. Note that Hyena supports both large and small toolbar icons, which also affects the size of the SystemViews toolbar. Restart Hyena after changing any settings on this dialog for the changes to take effect.
If a previous view is restored, and an item is modified or deleted from the view, Hyena will update the view information so that any changes will be reflected if the view is recalled again in the future.
Saved view information is not refreshed if changed by outside of Hyena (for example, by another user). The Refresh toolbar button (View->Refresh, or F5), can be used to force the refresh of a saved view.
When the maximum number of saved views has been reached, Hyena will automatically remove the oldest view in memory for subsequent saving of any new views.
Hyena will automatically save the sort order, selections and most other settings from a saved view, including the scroll position.
Hyena will NOT save any filter condition or filtered sets when changing views.
The only impact on performance when using saved views is usage of local workstation memory. Hyena does not maintain or hold any remote system resources or connections for saved views.
To clear a view, use the 'Clear' toolbar button (Edit->Clear), which will remove the view and free all allocated memory.
At present, Hyena will not save empty (blank) views. 'Empty' views are any view that results in an empty display.