Adding users who can back up your computer

You can use the Security Configuration Tool to control which users on your computer can access and configure key features of Norton Ghost.

For example, all users with Limited Windows accounts can run existing backup jobs, but they cannot create new jobs or edit existing jobs. However, using the Security Configuration Tool, you can grant administrative privileges to a Limited user account. When you do, that user has full access to Norton Ghost and can create, edit, delete, and run backup jobs.

Note:

By default, all users can run existing backup jobs. But only users with administrative accounts can create, edit, or delete backup jobs.

To add users who can back up a computer

  1. On the Windows taskbar, click Start > Programs > Symantec Norton Ghost > Security Configuration Tool.

    On Windows Vista, click Start > All Programs > Symantec > Security Configuration Tool.

  2. Click Add.

  3. In the Enter the object names to select box, type the names of the users or groups you want to add.

  4. Click OK.

  5. To delete users or groups, select a user or group, and then click Remove.

  6. Click OK to apply your changes and close the Security Configuration Tool.

To configure access rights for users or groups

  1. On the Windows taskbar, click Start > Programs > Symantec Norton Ghost > Security Configuration Tool

    On Windows Vista and Windows 7, click Start > All Programs > Symantec > Security Configuration Tool.

  2. Select a user or group from the Group or user names box.

  3. Choose from the following options:

    Permissions

    Allow

    Deny

    Full Control

    Select to give the user or group full access to all of the features of Norton Ghost. Full control gives users the right to create, edit, and delete backup jobs, including existing jobs.

    Select to deny the user or group administrative access to the features of Norton Ghost. They can run existing backup jobs, but they cannot create, edit, or delete them.

    Status Only

    Select to deny the user or group administrative access to the features of Norton Ghost. They can run existing backup jobs, but they cannot create, edit, or delete them.

    When you deny Status Only, the user or group cannot access any of the features of Norton Ghost.

  4. Click OK to apply your changes and close the Security Configuration Tool.