Tagging rules behave differently from marking rules. Tagging rules do not have a priority level, and any number of tagging rules can match one item. However, when a tagging rule applies a tag from a single-choice tag group, no other rule can then apply a tag from the same group.
When you disable a tagging rule that has applied tags from single-choice tag groups, the rule engine removes the tags, and may apply tags from single-choice groups configured in other rules. If you turn on the first tagging rule again, it is possible for the rule engine to produce different results from those that existed before you disabled the rule.
For example, suppose that you have the following tag groups:
Two tagging rules are configured to apply tags from these single-choice groups:
There are 100 items that match the criteria of both rules. In this case, the rule engine processes Rule1 and applies TagA and TagY to the 100 items. Although the items also match the criteria in Rule2, the rule engine does not apply TagB and TagZ to the 100 items because they are already tagged by other tags from both the single-choice tag groups.
If you disable Rule1, the rule engine first removes TagA and TagY from the items, and then applies TagB and TagZ under Rule2. If you turn on Rule1 again, TagB and TagZ remain on the 100 items. The rule engine cannot now apply TagA and TagY because the 100 items are already tagged by other tags from both the single-choice tag groups.