When replacing an expansion board on a BitLocker™-encrypted server, always disable BitLocker™ before replacing the expansion board. If BitLocker™ is not disabled, the system requests the recovery method selected when BitLocker™ was configured. Failure to provide the correct recovery password or passwords results in loss of access to all encrypted data.
Be sure to enable BitLocker™ after the installation is complete.
For information on BitLocker™, see BitLocker™ for Servers on the Microsoft website.