Previous Topic

Next Topic

System requests recovery method during a firmware update

When updating the firmware on a BitLockerâ„¢-encrypted server, always disable BitLockerâ„¢ before updating the firmware. If BitLockerâ„¢ is not disabled, the system requests the recovery method selected when BitLockerâ„¢ was configured. Failure to provide the correct recovery password or passwords results in loss of access to all encrypted data.

If BitLockerâ„¢ is configured to measure option ROMs, you must follow the firmware upgrade steps in "Updating firmware." BitLockerâ„¢ can be configured to measure the following option ROMs:

Be sure to enable BitLockerâ„¢ after the firmware updates are complete.

For information on performing ROM updates, see "Firmware maintenance."

For information on BitLockerâ„¢, see BitLockerâ„¢ for servers on the Microsoft website.