For data to be deleted, rights to delete a file must be granted; otherwise data will be backed up, but not deleted. Backup Exec does not delete data from Backup Exec Agent workstations when using the archive feature.
During an archive job, Backup Exec automatically performs a verify operation after the data is backed up. If the verify operation fails, the archive job stops and you are notified. If you get a verification failure, investigate the problem by viewing the job log, try to correct the problem, and then retry the archive operation. After the data is backed up and verified, Backup Exec automatically deletes the data included in the archive job. The job log contains a list of the data that was deleted.
If the checkpoint restart setting is enabled for an archive backup job that is resumed when a cluster failover occurs, the files selected for archive are not automatically deleted from the source volume after the backup completes.