You can enable or disable checkpoint restart for each backup job run on the cluster (by default, checkpoint restart is enabled). When checkpoint restart is enabled, jobs that were interrupted because of a failover continue from the point of interruption rather than starting over. Files that were already backed up are skipped, and only the remaining files in the job are backed up when the job is restarted. If this option is not selected, jobs are restarted from the beginning.
Checkpoint restart works best for the following file types:
The following types of files cannot use checkpoint restart:
Checkpoint restart is not supported by the following:
Before using checkpoint restart, review the following:
If a resource was completely backed up prior to a cluster failover, that resource is skipped upon checkpoint restart, regardless of whether the backup type or file type of that resource is supported by checkpoint restart. This saves media space and backup time.
If failover occurs in the middle of backing up a resource, the media that was being used at the time of the failover is left unappendable and new media will be requested upon restart. It is recommended that you select an appropriate media overwrite protection level to ensure that media that was used prior to the failover is not overwritten upon restart.
The data that is backed up upon restart is part of a different backup set than the data that was backed up prior to the failover. Separate catalog backup set entries are created for the data backed up prior to the failover and after the failover.
In addition, if multiple cluster failovers occur during the backup of a given resource, a different backup set is created each time the job restarts. These multiple backup sets allow potential for duplication of backed up data.
It is important to restore the backup sets in the order in which they were backed up. In addition, you should enable the Restore over existing files option when performing a restore operation on these backup sets to ensure that all the data included in the backup set is completely restored.
Entries for full-volume backups that were interrupted by a cluster failover and resumed from the point of failover do not display in the IDR Restore Wizard. However, you can restore these backup sets manually after you make the initial recovery using the IDR Restore Wizard.
If the checkpoint restart setting is enabled for an archive backup job that is resumed when a cluster failover occurs, the files selected for archive are not automatically deleted from the source volume after the backup completes.
If a failover occurs on a clustered managed media server, the job that is recovered resumes on the active cluster node. The job will not be recovered to any other managed media servers outside of the Backup Exec cluster.