You must move
backup-to-disk files to the Retired Media set before you can delete
them. When you delete a backup-to-disk file from the Media tab in
Backup Exec, it is deleted from Backup Exec but the Windows folder
and files still exist in Windows Explorer. You can recreate the
deleted backup-to-disk files if you have not used Windows Explorer
to delete them from the disk.
To delete a backup-to-disk file
On the navigation bar,
Click the media set that
contains the backup-to-disk file.
Use the Windows
drag-and-drop feature to move the backup-to-disk file into the
Retired Media set.
On the results pane,
select the backup-to-disk file you want to delete.
Under General Tasks in
the task pane, select Delete.
When prompted to delete
the backup-to-disk file, click Yes, or if you selected multiple
backup-to-disk files, click Yes to
The backup-to-disk file
is deleted from Backup Exec, but not from the disk. If you do not
want to delete the backup-to-disk file from the disk, you have
completed this procedure.
If you want to delete the
file from the disk, use Windows Explorer to navigate to the file
and delete it. When the file is removed from the disk using Windows
Explorer, you cannot restore it in Backup Exec.