Erasing Symantec Protection Network files

You can erase Symantec Protection Network files if you no longer need them. When you erase Symantec Protection Network files, Backup Exec removes the data from both the Symantec Protection Network folder and the disk. It also removes the file references from the catalog. However, the Symantec Protection Network file remains for use with future backup jobs.


You cannot restore the data that you erase. Before you erase files, be sure that you no longer need them.

To erase a Symantec Protection Network file

  1. On the navigation bar, click Devices.

  2. Expand the icon for the computer where the Symantec Protection Network folder is located.

  3. Under Symantec Protection Network, select the Symantec Protection Network folder that contains the file that you want to erase.

  4. In the Results pane, select the file that you want to erase.

  5. In the task pane under Media Tasks, select Erase media, quick.

  6. Click OK to continue.

  7. Click Yes, or if more than one file was selected, click Yes to All.

  8. Select the appropriate options as follows:

    Job name

    Type a name for the job or accept the default name.

    Job priority

    Select the priority for the job.

    The following options are available:

    • Lowest

    • Low

    • Medium

    • High

    • Highest

  9. If you want a person or group to be notified when the job completes, in the Properties pane, under Settings, click Notification.

    See Setting up notification for alerts.

  10. Do one of the following:

    To run the job now

    Click Run Now.

    To set scheduling options

    Under Frequency, click Schedule.

    See Scheduling jobs.