Before redirecting the restore of SharePoint Portal workspace data, the SharePoint Portal Server software must be installed on the target server. If any of the folders in the original workspace do not exist in the destination workspace, they will be created during the restore.
When you restore SharePoint Portal workspace data, any documents that exist in the target location and that have the same name as the documents being restored may be overwritten, depending on the overwrite properties for the restore job.
To redirect restored workspace data to another workspace
In the Restore to workspace or document library field, type the name of the workspace to which you are restoring. If you have not yet created the workspace, you must do so before starting the restore operation.